Shortki Community
February 23, 2024, 01:46:50 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: inShort 1.2.1 for Mac OS. Locations..

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is there a way to reset the plan after an analysis?  (Read 5146 times)
abarua

View Profile
« on: March 20, 2012, 12:14:36 PM »

Hi,

I'm new to your app, but am familiar with TOC and Critical Chain, so I think I understand most of the features and the Analysis function.

On running Analysis clearly the app goes ahead and does the planning for me, identifying the Critical Path, setting late starts for tasks, and suggesting feeding and project buffers. And in all (test) cases I've tried this works correctly and quickly.

At this point if I change time estimates or dependencies and replan, I've noticed that Late Start numbers that the Analysis added to the plan are persisted in some cases and the results don't look right. When I manually delete those numbers and re-Analyze things look correct again. A couple of times, I've even noticed the analysis setting the Fix Start Date, that I then had to reset to re-align the tasks correctly.

So, my only question is - is there a way to 'reset' all Late Start numbers, Fix Start Date values before a new analysis so I don't have to do this manually. Or is the problem that once they are set they are indistinguishable from user-inputed numbers? I have of course tried the 'Clear Analysis Results' option, but apart from removing the buffer suggestions, I'm not quite sure what else it's doing.

Thanks for your time to answer the question.

Cheers.
shortki
Administrator

View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2012, 01:23:00 AM »

First, the simple. There are indications which the analysis feature places exclusively, namely, hints on the diagram and the critical path sign. It is these indications that 'Clearing Analysis Results’ removes.