Shortki Community
July 20, 2018, 02:03:55 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: inShort 1.2.1 for Mac OS. Locations..
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Exchange difference  (Read 2691 times)
Matta
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +1/-0
Posts: 24


View Profile
« on: October 30, 2014, 10:38:07 AM »

Hi Shortki,

I'm using tr.en.d app for few months now, and I never had any issue, very satisfying app ! But just this week, I added new records and I don't understand the effects.
I'm working only with Euro my unique currency. But after created a new record, I discovered a new line in the tab "summary", just above "Dynamics of balance" : Exchange difference. The amount is quite important whereas I'm working only in Euro. As a consequence, the results on the summary page are "false" regarding the reality of the transaction.
In settings, I tried to update currencies rates, but the app is running for a long time with no success ; the last update was on October 2014, the 3rd.
Please, could you explain me why there is this exchange difference ? I was suspected the kind of category I used for the last recordings : traveling. Does this category introduce exchange difference, whatever the currency used ?

Thank you Shortki for your support.
Regards,
Matta
Logged
shortki
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +16/-0
Posts: 566



View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2014, 08:31:01 PM »

Yes, in your case the exchange difference should not appear.
Try to find the record that caused the error — narrow the period for the report until you localize the exact time when the "exchange difference" appears, then recreate the problem record.
Logged
Matta
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +1/-0
Posts: 24


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2014, 12:03:18 AM »

Thank you for your suggestion. So I've deleted all the previous records which I suppose generated the exchange difference and after that, I had no "exchange difference".
But every new record, whatever the category I select, generate a new "exchange difference" which is very high ! For exemple, an income of 48,11€ generate a exchange difference of the same amount : 48,11€.
Do you have any idea what happens and how I can remove this action from new records ?

Thank you for your help.

Matta
Logged
shortki
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +16/-0
Posts: 566



View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2014, 04:48:52 PM »

Strange situation.
First, check that operations correctly change account balances, whether such a mistake occurs with any account or with certain ones.
Also check that the euro exchange rate against the euro is specified one by one: 1.
Then check whether the exchange difference appears if you set a small (one-two days) time period.
Try entering records on different days and look whether the exchange difference appears.

I need more data to understand the nature of the error.
Logged
Matta
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +1/-0
Posts: 24


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2014, 02:37:02 PM »

Hi,
I checked the points you listed. It appears that the exchange difference is generated according to a certain time. It never did that before, even for this specific hour (i.e. 01:00). If I set another time, the calculation is correct; I don't have any exchange difference anymore. At the specific time (01:00), the amount is doubled for the duration of the active period.
I'm sorry because I understand that it's a strange behaviour and I certainly did a mistake. But I don't see what.
So, I can now avoid the exchange difference.
Another thing, linked to currencies rate: the update of these rates is running but with no success. The Internet connexion is correct.
Maybe if I delete the app and install it again, it may be useful ?
I'm sorry for my poor report...
Thank you again for your support and your app !
Matta
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!