Shortki Community
November 20, 2017, 03:24:35 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: inShort 1.2.1 for Mac OS. Locations..

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Set deadlines for projects/milestones?  (Read 3447 times)
vincentness

View Profile
« on: October 09, 2011, 03:39:53 am »

Hello! Before I begin, i just want to say that I'm a student at uni (and not doing a course associated to management or the likes) so i'm very new to BPMN and PERT concepts. Nevertheless, I like to plan ahead and have been looking around for a good flowchart-type app and, despite the steep learning curve, this one i really like! Very visually and functionally pleasing! Its ability to manage large projects (like career paths) and drill down to fine details is just awesome!

I got very confused at the start because I've always set out my plan with a deadline (like for example must finish assignment by this date) and work backwards that way. Took me a while to realise that the estimated times readjust from the when the project is initiated and thus the estimated time of the completion is shown at the last buffer (if i'm not mistaken?).

Is there a way to set a deadline and be able to workout an estimated date or latest date I should start the project? Or say if one of the resources is a milestone, i could set its date and then work out the latest time certain tasks needs to be done? Or is there a concept to do with PERT i'm missing?

Thanks!! n hope that makes sense!
-Vincent
Colin

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2011, 05:32:39 am »

I've got some ideas as a user, but rather than leading you astray, I'd like to know what Jury (the developer) has to say in terms of theory and a use case first Smiley
vincentness

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2011, 11:50:22 am »

Any ideas are welcomed at this stage  Grin
How would you go about it?   Huh
shortki
Administrator